Service Level Agreements (SLA) are policies or agreements service providers make with customers to perform certain functions within a specified amount of time. This may be between an actual client and the service provider but can also be inter-departmental, where the company binds the Customer Support team to specific timeframes.

Agent allows you to configure SLAs for 2 metrics:

Reports can be run to measure the SLAs and see how your team is meeting them.


Once the SLAs are configured and assigned to channels, you will see references to the SLAs when customers send new messages. This will help everyone keep on top of their tickets and answer in the appropriate timeframe.

The SLA information is displayed in the Waiting for help and Your current chats queues for each conversation. When a question comes in and it is awaiting an answer, it is in the Waiting for help queue. Then as a question is assigned the conversation moves to the Your current chats queue.

Once the First Response SLA is met, it will not be displayed in the conversation.

For more information on reporting on the SLA metrics, see Reports.

Define Severities

The Severities section defines the level of impact a question has on the user.

Severities can be defined in different ways. It all depends on what your company traditionally defines them. Commonly companies will define them as P1, P2, P3, etc., or S1, S2, S3, or even High, Med, Low.

However, you want to name them, enter the names of each level here, then choose a default severity.

The default severity is assigned to a ticket if no severity is specified.

SLA Tiers

Creating Tiers

Tiers define different categories of service. Tiers and Severities are combined to create the most user-customizable SLAs. You can configure each Tier and Severity with its own timing.

If you do not want the system to create Tiers automatically for you, they can be manually created.

When you click Create Default SLA, the system will create 4 default tiers: Enterprise, Premium, Basic, and Free. Each tier contains a metric for each severity. SLAs can then be configured for each Tier and Severity.

For example, for the FREE support tier, a P1 severity might be configured with a 3 hour Time to Update and a 24 hour Time to first response. The Enterprise tier P1 severity is configured with a 30 minute Time to Update and a 1 hour Time to first response.

To add a Tier manually, select a tier click Add Tier.

Edit/Configure Tiers

Once the Tiers are created, they will be displayed on the SLA Settings page.

To edit the Tier name and description, click the ellipsis to the right of the tier description and select Edit or Delete. Enter the desired name. A description is optional but is very helpful when looking at the SLAs on the settings page or reports.

You must also select a default tier. Although Tiers can be defined for each channel, there may be some channels with no associated tier. In this case, the default tier is used for tracking SLA metrics.